Home | News Roundup | Road Tests | Motorsport | Picture gallery | Classic | Features | Travel | Links | Contact Us




A real DVD treat for rally fans from Tyndall Productions- three volumes of “A Magnificent Seven”.
Featuring John Lyons the Belfast bank official who could have gone professional; James Cullen the Donegal driver who fought to win and beat financial burdens; Stephen Finlay who shone on the stages but shied from publicity; James Leckey Down’s sensational short-stay racer; Ian Greer the quiet and quick Hillsborough driver; Liam O’Callaghan Cork’s determined stage star who came from a rallying family; Kevin Lynch the County Derry novice, a winner from the outset.
They are the seven fast, furious and highly entertaining drivers featured in Tyndall Production’s latest DVD.
Vol. I John Lyons & James Cullen                            £16.99 + P&P
Vol. II Steven Finlay, James Leckey & Ian Greer      £16.99 + P&P
Vol. III            Liam O’Callaghan & Kevin Lynch     £16.99 + P&P
A Magnificent Seven Box Set (all 3 volumes)           £40.00 + P&P, the latter would make a perfect gift.
Available at www.rpm-motorsport.com
These epic DVDs can be purchased online in three separate volumes or as a box set.

Back to Top


Northern Ireland may be a relatively small country, but it is filled with motorsport talent, and that was very evident at the annual Association of Northern Ireland Car Clubs’ (ANICC) awards evening.
With an impressive array of more than 200 perpetual cups and crystal trophies, the finest competitors in the country were present at the Armagh City Hotel to receive their accolades and awards for the 2016 season.
All motorsport disciplines were represented from junior rallying and autotesting to racing, hill climbing and stage rallying, the star-studded evening was a night to remember. 
It was fantastic to acknowledge all the UK award winners from Northern Ireland in the JLT/MSA Club and Volunteer of the Year awards with Jimmy McKeefry from Magherafelt lifting the overall UK Volunteer of the Year Award. Jimmy and three category winners in these awards will each attend the prestigious MSA Night of Champions at the RAC Club, Pall Mall, London on Saturday 28th January 2017.
On hand to present many of the awards was Jonathan Day, MSA Director of Development and Training.
Together with presentations honouring all the ANICC Championship winners there were also other surprises in store as well. The ANICC presented a very well deserved ANICC Lifetime Achievement Award to Bill Johnston from Belfast recognizing his outstanding contribution to Motorsport in Northern Ireland for over 50 years.
Also the 2016 Clubman of the Year Award went to Noel Cochrane from Newtownards marking his contribution as both a Club official and a competitor in many grassroots disciplines since the early 80’s.
The organizing team from the John Mulholland Motors Ulster Rally also received a surprise award from the Motor Sports Association recognizing their achievement in being named ‘Best round of the 2016 British Rally Championship’.
The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the 2016 Northern Ireland Motorsport Award and this was presented to Ronnie Trouton MBE for his services to Northern Ireland motorsport since the early 60’s marking his significant achievements which culminated in his appointment as a member of the Motor Sports Association Board during the 90’s and he is currently an Honorary Vice-President of the British Motor Sports Council.
Ronnie said: “This is a fantastic honour for me to receive this award for my work with the Association over many years and I sincerely appreciate that the Clubs and members have thought of me for this award.”
Speaking on behalf of the ANICC, Chairman Henry Campbell, said: “This has been a tremendous evening for Northern Ireland Motorsport. This small country has the ability to produce some exceptional driving talent and in 2016, many achieved their personal goals and have been recognised on the International stage.
Henry continued by expressing his personal support for all the fantastic volunteers who work in the sport from Northern Ireland and particularly this year with three Clubs and seven Volunteers from ANICC receiving acknowledgements for winning overall UK awards through the MSA. ”

  Finally, Henry also congratulated Ronnie Trouton on receiving the ANICC Motorsport Award and said: “It is important to offer support and congratulations to all of our award winners. I wish everyone a safe and successful year’s motorsport during 2017.”
With the triumphs of 2016 behind them, competitors are gearing up towards another successful season. Many championships are already underway, and there are sure to be some tight battles in all disciplines.
More details about all forms of four-wheeled motorsport in Northern Ireland can be found online at www.anicc.org.uk.
Photograph shows Ronnie Trouton MBE receiving his ANICC Motorsport Award from (left) Henry Campbell, ANICC Chairman, Jonathan Day, MSA Director of Development and Nicky Moffitt, ANICC Secretary (Photo credit to John O’Neill, Sperrins Photography).

Back to Top



www.autonorthonline.com 2011